07
May
09

“Smog Blog” Paints Picture of Air Pollution for SciAm

Scientific American.com article on UMBC's "Smog Blog"

Scientific American.com article on UMBC's "Smog Blog"

UMBC PHYSICS PROFESSOR and JOINT CENTER FOR EARTH SYSTEMS TECHNOLOGY DIRECTOR RAY HOFF and his team’s “Smog Blog” were heavily featured over at Scientific American’s site today.

UMBC’s own U.S. Air Quality blog, a.k.a. the “Smog Blog,” is a big part of Scientific American’s article and slideshow on how the U.S. government and UMBC researchers use satellite data to chart the quality of the air we breathe.

Hoff has run the Smog Blog with a team of current and former graduate students and other volunteers since 2003. “From a personal perspective, I thought it would be a good teaching tool,” he notes, “but it turned out to be much more than that.”

BIO/CONTACT

1 Response to ““Smog Blog” Paints Picture of Air Pollution for SciAm”


  1. August 18, 2009 at 2:53 am

    Hi everybody I took a really shoking picture of my town I never saw that much brown clouds .
    on the blog I like you to visit . it dosent need any words to explain what is hapenning you will be able to SEE and very clearly the smog who makes a large brown bubble over all downtown

    on my picture there is a traffic jam too 5.6 KM long up to the downtown

    please go on my blog and have a little look on that nasty pollution

    I dont use a car. I use the city transportation never get jammed and its actually faster for me to get to the working site

    anyway go have a look on the picture of my town Montréal

    http://get2jobi.blogspot.com/2009/08/smog-montreal.html

    thanks a lot in advance help me to make realize more people day by day


Leave a Reply

UMBC’s Faculty Experts Vlog

FOLLOW US ON

Latest TalkingHeads on Twitter


